May 15, 2014

  • Grandma-ism

    I really think I need to come up with a better title for these. Grandma-ism doesn’t seem to capture the essence as well as I’d like.  Another hearty episode of Grandma-ism to present. Buckle your seat belts, folks.

    It’s no secret that Grandma is praying for me to get married. I mean praying. every. single. day. Despite the many talks I’ve had with her and even her agreeing that I’m able to be content and live a great life in my singleness. She gets it and see it in my life, even though I want to be married, I’m not moping. BUT I’m still confident her win all is marriage. I think I’ve said before that I’m the first single granddaughter who is unwed and moved out of my parent’s home but stayed in the area. This has it’s perks…even though I’m not a helpless single woman.

    Let’s begin.

    This was my present from Grandma that she brought back from Florida. They bought it and tested it out before giving it to me. “It’s perfect for single you” was her comment.

    photo 1

     

    This is a time of baby shower’s for a cousin and once those end, another cousin’s wedding showers begin. I’m pretty sure showers will be extinct by the time I get married. If anything they’ll be e-showers, which I would be totally fine with to be honest. (Takes the face to face away but the opening presents and ooooh and ahhh-ing over presents is not enjoyable to me.) Anyway, my cousin’s baby shower. We played a game in which items were in a brown paper bags and we had to guess what the item was by feel. Grandma: “You won’t know what any of these are because you’re a single lady.” This was Grandma’s list which I teased her about. Many —— through the number. I didn’t do any better but still, back it up Grams! :)

     

    photo 2

     

    Then after the baby shower…oh yeah, I picked her up for the shower and told her I’d bring her grocery shopping because that was on her agenda for the day. She INSISTED I get  a small cart, so she can put things in it that a single lady like me needs to have for easy dinners. She is convinced I don’t eat. Grandma by the number on the scale, I can tell you, I do. (I didn’t say that though because that would’ve turned into a self-image talk, I’m sure.)

    I have to say I love modern technology and being able to take pictures on my phone.

    And we’re off.

    photo 3

     

    She kept telling me she needed to teach me how to shop. It wasn’t worth the breath to explain that I grocery shop all the time. I let her glory in teaching me things about it all. This is her 1) having no idea I’m taking a picture and 2) explaining how sliced cheese is nicer and how for every meal/guest that you have over, just drape a piece of cheese on the side of the plate and it will make your meal pop. Yes, Grandma. I will remember that next time I have you over for dinner.

     

    photo 4

     

    BUT my ultimate favorite is this…

    photo 5

    She leaves her cart multiple times to go back and get groceries. At points I even asked, Grandma don’t you just want to bring them with you. No, it’s easier to just leave them here since we can carry stuff back to our cart. A part of me wonders if the cart is just too heavy for her to push around but she made no mention of this. Anyway, the picture above is one time but the picture below, the carts were “parked” over by the Arnies bakery area and we walked back to the cereal isle without our carts.

    This is Grandma arms full on the way back to her cart. I had things as well, snapped this picture (because it’s a riot…she had soup buried in there as well) and then offered to carry some of her items back to our carts. I couldn’t miss the opportunity to capture Grandma walking clear across the store with her arms full of groceries. #priceless

    photo 6

     

    I was talking to my aunt and uncle about this great shopping trip on Sunday night since they heard about it from her during their Mother’s Day lunch. I thought I’d fill them in with pictures and my side of the story. My aunt said “We all know Gabe is Grandpa’s favorites and your Grandma’s favorite.” Yeah, it’s true.

    Soo do you remember Brian (point #3). No we aren’t dating and I don’t foresee that happening, either. Great guy, hard worker, servant’s heart 0and strong believer. I appreciate that about him but I’m not sure we’ve ever seen each other as potentials. Anyway, he joined the Caleb’s Kin class at church. The old folks class. Grandma’s class. She was telling me the other day she told him she wants him to marry into our family. Ha. Poor guy. I’m not sure she told him this but she told me. There are only two options me and another cousin and she’d choose me for him. It’s a compliment. A Grandma compliment.

    Phew, that was so much but needed to be documented before it became a distant memory.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recent Comments

Categories