June 15, 2014

  • Father’s Day

    With the last hour and 45 minutes left of this day, I thought I’d write a little something but then I stumbled upon a tribute written a couple years ago. Much of which and more is exactly how I feel today.

    The older I get the more I appreciate how my father respects me. Out of my immediate family, he’s really the only one that sees and treats me as an adult. The others, although not said, it certainly feels as if, once I get married then I become an adult. It’s frustrating to me and I’m unsure what else I can do to prove I’m a responsible adult. I don’t feel that way with dad at all. He’ll call to ask me for advice or just insight into different situations. We’ve always had a special relationship.

    263487_556522558953_633012_n556615_618990213273_1687549143_n

    Yes, I’m peeing off that boat. Dad is the King of stupid shirts. One of many things he has passed onto his daughter.

    Last Sunday as we were out to dinner he started talking about what he wanted for Father’s Day which kind of shocked me. He is always telling us not to get him anything or do spend our money on him, even though we always do. When you have a loving, generous father like him, it’s the least we can do to honor him. All he said he wanted was to “take my 4 girls out to see a Alone Yet Not Alone” a true story that touches on India. He is a sucker for any Indian movie. Anyway, even in the gift that he wanted was just to spend quality time with people he loves. He’s a selfless man and it really warms my heart to call him dad. Honored and blessed.

    A couple weeks ago, we found out dad has cancer. A sentence I’ve not written until now and have yet to form the words with my lips. It’s a thought I’ve thought many times in the past 2 weeks as I lay it before my Heavenly Father. In past years, I’ve dreamt that it would be my brother giving me away at my wedding and not my father. My subconscious is obviously a jerk. I put no merit in my dreams telling the future. I digress. Even in this, my dad is still himself. When he came back from his appointment of testing, mom was explaining it may be cancerous on his face. Dad’s comment was this: “I’m gonna need a face transplant but they only have black women faces left.” He actually is quite funny but we try not to encourage him too much.

    Due to all the things going on with his parents – his dad, specifically, we haven’t told them quite yet. It would be too much on my Grandma and she’d feel she needed to back off of the responsibilities dad has been taking on for his own father. Like I said, he’s a selfless man. I can only pray that some day I marry a man like him and that he’s there to see it happen.

    He undergoes the knife for the first time on Tuesday.

    ——

    My mother told me he had cancer in an email. Note to anyone, that isn’t how you should tell anyone that anyone has cancer.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recent Comments

Categories