May 5, 2014

  • Bliss

    This weekend was really good. Busy but incredibly good.

    Friday when I got off work, I went grocery shopping then met my mom, sister-in-law and Lydia to get pedicures. Mom's treat. That's usually the only time I get pedicures to be honest. Then Friday night, hung out with one of the kids on my basketball team and made this stellar dessert. Stellar is an understatement.

    1

     

    Then Saturday morning, had breakfast with my dad per usual then headed to a Mother/Daughter banquet at church. I was shocked my mother wanted to attend. The last time we did, we looked like the below.

    photo (12)

    At that time it was a sleepover, so she got us matching jammies and we were pressured into doing a skit together. We were told everyone was doing it, yeah...only 5 or 6 mother daughter pairs participated. I think that scarred my mom, so we hadn't been back since. I think it had to do with Beka having a part in it. I also made a (crummy) video for it...

    That afternoon I went home and spent time in the kitchen as I was having some friends I graduated HS with over.

    First I made granola for me. Seriously, delicious!

    2

     

     

    Then I made this for dinner plus roasted potatoes, french bread and I made the red velvet dessert again. We ate, caught up, played Ticket to Ride and watched the classic, That Thing You Do.

    4 3

     

    Sunday was church, lunch with the family, came home took a 45 minute nap and was back in the kitchen to BAKE. (Not my specialty.) We are having a bake sale fundraiser in honor of a coworkers son who died. Read the story here.

    So here is what I made:

    S'more Bars

    6

     

    Apple Pie

    5

     

    2 Knock You Naked Brownies

    7 8

    Red Velvet Cookies

     

    9

    Doesn't seem like much now but for a struggling baker, this was a huge accomplishment. Then ended the night hanging out with a world traveler friend who is back for a little bit. It was nice to catch up with her over a bowl of icecream with granola as a topping.

    A great weekend if I do say so myself. I truly love being in the kitchen. It made me miss the college days for many reasons. Alas, those times, memories and ...people are in the past. Anyway, it brought me joy and hope it brings joy to others through their consumption. I've really thought about someday just "quitting" life and opening some kind of restaurant. I was reminded by my HS friends that even in HS, I was nerdy pathetic  strange and watch the Food Network Channel for fun. I've always loved it, still do.

    Maybe some day those doors will be open. Who knows.

     

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recent Comments

Categories