February 13, 2014

  • RBC

    I love where I work. I mean seriously love it. Going to work everyday to a place where people are ridiculously encouraging and have Jesus as their foundation working specifically to further the kingdom? I seriously mean it when I say I could be scrubbing toilets and be completely thankful for working at RBC.

    Last week I spoke in chapel about ArtPrize and my back story. (Oh yeah, we have chapel every Wednesday, too.) Anyway, awhile back my boss suggested to HR that I speak and it rolled around last Wednesday. I’ll tell you, I was more nervous for this talk than all the others I’ve been asked to speak.  I was a rambling idiot or at least, I felt that way. I have this joke that I have a filter for things I say. The things that get through are things that the filter doesn’t catch. After every time I speak, which has become more and more lately, people tell me I need to become a comedian. Let me clear things up. I’m not funny. I’m nervous and say stupid things.

    Over and over people have told me my speaking was memorable, concise (which I wouldn’t say it was, at all), funny and incredibly touching (in more or less words…mostly more). I seriously walked away from it wondering if anything that was said mattered. I have the audio but refuse to listen to it. Multiple people have asked that I come share at their church or in different things. Yikes.

    I’ve had people very specifically come and have lengthy conversations with me – thanking me and entrusting me their stories, even prior to chapel. I love the stories people have. I thrive off not talking but listening to others and the stories God has given them. This

    (I wrote the above after a guy came into my office to speak before the below happened…*)

    I got this calendar invite at work to “discuss testimony” – I work in a place where that’s acceptable and encouraged.  He asked that the conversation be between us and will definitely keep it there. Wow. Humbled. Humbled. Humbled again that someone else would entrust me.

    Bob

    I love being able to have conversations with coworkers about real things. It’s so rich.

    To have a meeting to watch a documentary about gendercide for the work-purpose to talk about how it was done, why it was effective and so on to also and more deeply discussing how it touched us personally. Then ending in prayer.

    To have friends at work and not just coworkers.

    *Sigh. I honestly started this post with the intent to explain how all Christian organizations don’t do everything right and they don’t.  We’re human and that is to be expected but after writing the above, I’m reminded what a blessing my job is to have. So although, like any company, RBC isn’t perfect, it’s a job that truly goes beyond a paycheck.

    At least for me anyway.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recent Comments

Categories