February 3, 2014

  • Super Bowl

    Yes, it’s Super Bowl not SuperBowl, in case anyone is wondering.  What a disappointing game. To be honest, it was simply embarrassing. I probably wouldn’t have kept watching except for being with friends, so we kept enduring and enjoying each other’s company.

    I promised a sick-friend, I would keep my eye out for any note-worthy commercials. So I sent her this email and thought, I’d post it here as well. For the most part, commercials were also disappointing. Oh well, here’s to next year and the Lions making the cut, too.

    Cheerios - Super cute. I mean presh and adorbs. (Precious and Adorable…oh those HS kids do mess with my lingo.)

    Audi - Perfect blend of mockery to the puppy bowl and Sarah Mclachlan.

    Kia - If you remember the Matrix, this was quality funny.

    Honda - Bruce Willis and it’s actually very strange but I laughed out loud at the hashtag.

    Oikas - Again, kind of awkward but you gotta love Full House

    Doritos - I wasn’t a huge fan of this one, if that was my kid, he’d get punished for disrespect not Doritos.

    Esurance - I’m a personal fan of this because 1.  it’s Jim from The Office (or John Krasinski) 2. It saved them that much. 3. People are still watching (so way to save money and advertise), it’s a give away and gets people talking about it on Social Media …pure genius

    It was a year of flashbacks between Matrix, Full House and Seinfeld. Oh and there was a Muppets one in there, too…but I’ve never been a big Muppets fan. My brother on the other hand, loves them. So there you go. Noteworthy-ish commercials. Oh and the Budweiser puppy/horse commercial. Commercials like this don’t really touch my soul like ones (oh yes, this one showed during, too…wow, more are coming back to me) like the Welcome Home one did. Animals are sweet and the training process that went into the animals and such for this commercial is a sweet story but a soldier coming home is much more meaningful to me.

Comments (2)

  • I just really like that you re-capped the game and the commercials. And I feel the same way about all the commercials you listed. Doritos boy? Not ok. Bruce Willis hashtag? Hilarious. That hashtag made the commercial. Bet you didn’t know I check your blog ever, did you?

    • I’m a couple days later in replying and your comment made me smile. You’re right. I didn’t know you checked it. :) I read yours faithfully as well and am always challenged. I know the same can’t be said for mine…haha, point and case. Our friendship is obviously based on having the same commercial opinions.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recent Comments

Categories