December 1, 2013

  • Grandma-ism

    Well, the grandparents are officially off to Florida. So, this may be the last edition of Grandma-isms for awhile. Two of the saddest parts of this for me are 1) not seeing them in church on Sunday morning. I seriously treasure being able to see them every Sunday and how faithful they are to His Word. Not to mention, Grandma always comes in later (after singing has begun) and yet, she always makes the rounds to all of us (the Wynalda section), saying hi and giving hugs and 2) not having them around for the Wynalda Christmas. They used to leave for Florida after Christmas but haven't done that in the past couple years.

    A couple weeks ago, I needed my Grandparents to help me transport a second copy of "IMAGE" to Right to Life. My car doesn't fit it, which is why I needed them to tag along. The lady I had been communicating back and forth with was later 30's and reminded my Grandma of a friend of mine. Somehow that constituted for my Grandma to ask if she was married because she was wearing a ring on her ring finger, which of course, Grandma notices. The lady was not to which Grandma began in on why she shouldn't wear a ring on her ring finger and telling her all about my singleness, too. I couldn't believe that was happening - it happened so quickly. The lady was very gracious with Grandma and her could've easily been taken offensively comments. I followed up with the lady with an email the next day thanking her for not being offended.

    Speaking of marriage, I will be incredibly sad if my Grandma and Grandpa aren't at my wedding (due to death).

    As of September 13, 2013, I made the move out of my parent's home. I'm the first single woman cousin who has moved out and not for the purpose of school. I'm still in the area with all the family but living and navigating life in my own place. This is a new concept to...everyone. Mostly my parents and grandparents. They worry about me and I can't say I blame them for that. It has its perks and disadvantages. Some perks being, they think you're starving all the time which means invites to dinner!

    (I don't know why this picture looks like a mirrored image.)
    IMG_4468

    It also means random items being given. Grandma knows how busy I am with basketball, BSF etc and knows putting up a Christmas tree in my apartment is not top on the priority list. So she purchased me a midget tree with lights already attached. Easy set up and had an ornament hanging on in her garage for years which she gave as well. So I have 3 ornaments. 1) From the Grandma's garage 2) a bball one from one of my kids and 3) one from a kid at church for being the SS teacher. Along with the tree and knowing they were going to take off to Florida soon, I was also handed the below.

    unnamed

    No, I'm not starving but I'm also not complaining. :) I'll definitely miss the Grandparents while they are gone. They just celebrated 56 years of marriage which is such an incredible example of how it should be. We are all somewhat ready and understand they may not have many more years together but that doesn't make it any easier.

    Until April, probably but you never know what she may say during a phone call! :)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recent Comments

Categories