Month: June 2014

  • Chapter Closed.

    I decided I'd flesh this out a little bit more.
    After 22 years, I'm closing the door on a place I've loved, treasured and owe much of who I am today. Most would say I'm 8 years past when I should've done this, when I graduated, but that isn't who I am and that isn't how I operate. My loyalties to places and people are deeply rooted - too deep, at times.
    I attend Algoma Christian School from Pre-K through Senior year. 14 years. My name is on a plaque for the "All the Way Through Club".  I've made friends from that school that literally have lasted my lifetime. We grew through ups and downs together during quite honestly, the most awkward times of our lives. I had a principle that truly cared about our well being. Teachers who loved God to sacrifice financially to serve at this school. Teachers who have become friends. My memories from when I attended are great. Most of which have nothing about learning from a textbook, though, I did learn and enjoyed it.
    Which is why, I, unlike many Alumni wanted to give back to a place that gave me so much. I've spent the last 3 years coaching and investing in these girls. I'm not remotely close to being a mother but I can tell you, this gave me a glimpse into parenthood. When they succeeded for whatever reason, I rejoiced with them. When they walked down the wrong rode, my heart hurt for them and my prayers multiplied. I truly care for "my kids" and my number one priority in serving them was to point them to God. Being 8 years out of HS and holding recordS at Algoma for playing basketball, I can tell you and did tell them, IT DOESN'T MATTER. In Eternity, God isn't going to ask you how many points or assists you had, or if you won a championship. Please, do not get me wrong, I am ridiculously competitive and really hate to lose but the hardcore fact is there are things that matter and things that don't. What I wanted to teach these kids is winning, losing, scoring, doing homework...whatever you're doing, in that, you can bring glory to God.
    At the beginning of my first season I wrote this:
    "At the beginning of the season, I told the team are focus is on 3 things, in this order.
    God.
    Teammates.
    Basketball.
    If I failed them in the first two and we had a great record, I still would have done them an injustice as their coach. The day I stop believing that is the day I should no longer be coaching. Feel free to hold me to that."
    All details aside, this past season was really rough. I felt very strongly that the direction of Algoma was in a completely different direction than pointing kids to Christ. My direction as a coach hadn't changed. Algoma's did. At Algoma Christian the first priority wasn't what it was when I attended and what it should be - Christ. I was really praying about my decision about continuing for the next year. Praying and struggling through it as I didn't want to give up on my kids. I set up a meeting with the principle just to discuss some of my concerns, whether or not I was coming back to coach, I wanted him to know and thought he'd want to know. I came to the point of knowing, if I step down God would fill that place. Algoma doesn't need me to continue on.
    The meeting with the principle continued to get pushed back and 3 days prior to it, I received an email from the AD firing me from coaching. Even if I was a nobody and/or the worst coach that has ever coached, this was the wrong way to handle it. Since I was certainly not a nobody and I was an alum still investing and loving the school, not to mention they just gave me the Alumni of the Year award and my name is now on another plaque. The email was then followed up by an attachment of the parent reviews. I slightly glanced over them before I had silent tears streaming from my eyes...at work. You see, I'd probably understand this better if I had been given feedback throughout the season (any would've been nice) and I was blatantly ignoring it. Not a word. Not from staff. Not from parents. No indication. I think it was absolutely cowardly to 1) tell me in an email 2) that parents could anonymously hide behind reviews 3) they didn't care to speak with me prior to share some concerns/hear my feedback.
    It's really very sad to me. Not for me. Honestly, I'm not upset over this. I'm not going to fight to serve at a place that doesn't want me there. They definitely handled the situation incorrectly and even after my email to the principle, his decision not to reply and right the wrong spoke volumes. I had been praying about what the future looked like concerning coaching. God answered. It wasn't how I wanted but I know if I walked away on my own, like I felt He was directing me to anyway, a part of me would've always felt a little guilty as if I gave up or could've done more. There's no question in my mind now and the older I get the more I realize, understand and am thankful I don't have to understand His plan (even though sometimes I want to). He had me there for a specific time and purpose, which He may or may not reveal to me. I am sad for the school. I've dreamed of sending my kids there and to tell them stories of when I went there but just like a church isn't a building, a school isn't, either. It's the people. The people and the direction of Algoma, at least for now, has changed drastically and I want nothing to do with it. I really think in the next 5-10 years, I will have no Alma mater to attend homecoming games at, that is if I wanted to anyway. Our reunions will be remembering a school that no longer exists, unless God is gracious by bringing leadership into the school that wants to turn the ship and silence a particular group of people. I don't mean this to be crude but that person would have to have balls. Someone who would be willing to do the unpopular thing against all the voices. It's sad that's an issue in a "Christian" school.
    The week this all progressed, I was scheduled to speak at the Mother's Tea at Algoma, which was difficult to do with a positive attitude. I knew that would be the last time I entered the doors. God did, however, have a different plan. I was sitting at home on the night of graduation when a mother texted me this.
    10410075_728338822783_1457017430_n
    Graduation had already begun but I knew, I needed to swallow some pride and be the bigger person since I knew it'd mean the world if I was there. It was incredibly hard to be there but there are some things you need to do for other people. That was one of them.
    I see no future for me and Algoma Christian School. My prayer is God brings leadership into that school like what was once was when I attended or better. If and when He does that, I will reconsider but for the time being Algoma might be better off dropping "Christian" from the title.
    So there it is. The chapter is closed. I'm going to have, at least from what I can tell, a ridiculous amount of free time, less responsibility and stress. In fact, I already kind of do. I don't know what's next or how God is going to use me but I'm open and waiting with eyes peeled.
  • Father's Day

    With the last hour and 45 minutes left of this day, I thought I'd write a little something but then I stumbled upon a tribute written a couple years ago. Much of which and more is exactly how I feel today.

    The older I get the more I appreciate how my father respects me. Out of my immediate family, he's really the only one that sees and treats me as an adult. The others, although not said, it certainly feels as if, once I get married then I become an adult. It's frustrating to me and I'm unsure what else I can do to prove I'm a responsible adult. I don't feel that way with dad at all. He'll call to ask me for advice or just insight into different situations. We've always had a special relationship.

    263487_556522558953_633012_n556615_618990213273_1687549143_n

    Yes, I'm peeing off that boat. Dad is the King of stupid shirts. One of many things he has passed onto his daughter.

    Last Sunday as we were out to dinner he started talking about what he wanted for Father's Day which kind of shocked me. He is always telling us not to get him anything or do spend our money on him, even though we always do. When you have a loving, generous father like him, it's the least we can do to honor him. All he said he wanted was to "take my 4 girls out to see a Alone Yet Not Alone" a true story that touches on India. He is a sucker for any Indian movie. Anyway, even in the gift that he wanted was just to spend quality time with people he loves. He's a selfless man and it really warms my heart to call him dad. Honored and blessed.

    A couple weeks ago, we found out dad has cancer. A sentence I've not written until now and have yet to form the words with my lips. It's a thought I've thought many times in the past 2 weeks as I lay it before my Heavenly Father. In past years, I've dreamt that it would be my brother giving me away at my wedding and not my father. My subconscious is obviously a jerk. I put no merit in my dreams telling the future. I digress. Even in this, my dad is still himself. When he came back from his appointment of testing, mom was explaining it may be cancerous on his face. Dad's comment was this: "I'm gonna need a face transplant but they only have black women faces left." He actually is quite funny but we try not to encourage him too much.

    Due to all the things going on with his parents - his dad, specifically, we haven't told them quite yet. It would be too much on my Grandma and she'd feel she needed to back off of the responsibilities dad has been taking on for his own father. Like I said, he's a selfless man. I can only pray that some day I marry a man like him and that he's there to see it happen.

    He undergoes the knife for the first time on Tuesday.

    ------

    My mother told me he had cancer in an email. Note to anyone, that isn't how you should tell anyone that anyone has cancer.

Recent Comments

Categories